Architecture of Change


Author Kristin Feireiss, Lukas Feireiss
Publisher Gestalten
Date 2008
Cover Hardcover
Dimensions 11.2" x 9.7" x 1.4", 304 pages
Architecture of Change presents outstanding architectural projects that combine creativity, scientific knowledge, technical innovation, social engagement and a strong sense of responsibility to address environmental challenges. The book is based on the Zumtobel Group Award for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment. Architecture of Change features recently built and realised projects that in addition to their exceptional architectural quality make a notable contribution to a liveable and sustainable future. But the book also covers current initiatives that promote innovative research in this sector and thus encourage an emerging generation of environmentally aware architects and urban planners.

Architecture of Change contains over forty international projects by architects that include Pritzker Prize winner Thom Mayne, Steven Holl, Kenneth Yang, Sauerbruch & Hutton, Architecture for Humanity and Rural Studio. The included work ranges from development projects in Bangladesh, Nepal and Africa to open source Internet platforms, experimental approaches to flood prevention and modern high-rises for an urban context. The book also includes essays by and interviews with internationally renowned experts in architecture, science, economics and politics.